About the Philippines Study

Study English in the Philippines?

About the Republic of the Philippines

The Philippines is a republican country consisting of 7,000 islands in the Pacific Ocean and located in South East Asia. Manila is the capital and metropolitan city of the Philippines. Cebu is the second largest city in the Philippines. It is a resort island which offers a variety of water sports, enchanted with the rich cultural heritage and modernized urban. Besides Manila and Cebu, there are many other cities in the Philippines surrounded by white sand beaches, beautiful resorts, and unique cultures which would definitely assure you an interesting experience.

Religion wise, the Philippines is the only Catholic country in Asia where most other countries in this continent are either Muslim, Buddhist, or non-religious country. Philippines is surrounded by China, Malaysia, and Vietnam by sea. It is very accessible to other touristic destination such as Taiwan (Around 2 hours flight between Taipei and Manila) and Japan (Around 4 hours flight between Tokyo and Manila). Filipinos are known to be beautiful, friendly and warm-hearted in nature.

Philippines

Country Name The Republic of the Philippines
Area 300,000 km2
Population 100,627,630
Capital Manila
Race Filipino
Religion Catholic(83%), Christian(10%), Islam(5%),
Languages Tagalog and English

Philippines and English

「Why should we study English in the Philippines?」 Most people have this question in mind when they first heard of the experience of studying English in the Philippines. However,
Philippines is recognized as the country with the best Business English skill according to the recent research conducted by Global English. The reason for you to choose Philippines as your English education destination should not be purely based on the cost but also for the quality. Due to the high quality of the English skill of the general public here, there are so many international call centers being located in the Philippines and this industry is growing fast. From all the signs shown, the Philippines is poised to become an international hub for the English education.

※Philippines was chosen as the 1st place by the research for business English Index.

Advantages of studying in the Philippines

  • One-to-one lesson

    One-to-one lesson image

    There are many schools providing one-to-one English lessons for up to 4-10 hours per day in the Philippines, as compared to the other English speaking countries such as the US, UK, Canada, Australia and NZ where most of the English schools provide only 10-20 group lessons per week. Students normally do not get the chance to speak for more than 5 minutes per group class which would significantly slow down their English skill acquisition speed. With more chance of speaking and practising, the intensive one-to-one classes is the most attractive feature for the Philippines English education. Due to the high cost of setting up one-to-one classes, this learning model cannot be easily imitated in other countries. Students will be trained to start speaking English without hesitation within a week as students are exposed to English conversation throughout the day.

  • Cost advantage

    Cost advantage image

    The fee would be 1/3 to 1/2 as much as studying in other countries such as US, UK, Canada and Australia. The average all-inclusive monthly cost of education is around USD 1,500-2,000, including tuition, accommodations, meals, and laundry. Some people may argue that it is cheaper to study in their own countries, yet again the English speaking environment cannot be created easily in their home and surroundings for non-English speaking countries.

  • Resort lifestyle

    Resort lifestyle image

    Philippines is a tropical country with warm climate, beautiful white sand beaches and friendly people. Most cities are accessible to the beach with around 1 hour drive. For students who are craving for resort islands with world class beaches, they can also take a short flight or ferry to Boracay and Palawan islands. Besides diving, snorkelling, sun-bathing, and beach-related activities, there are also many cultural heritage in the Philippines such as rice terrace, the energetic street markets, tropical fruit and juices, as well as local delicacies which are normally reasonably priced. Be assured that you will get to enjoy resort life while studying here.

Flow of study

  • Step1

    Pre-study Research and Planning

    Reviews
    Please check the reviews of the schools and information about the Philippines study. There are more than 100 reviews posted in the mango study. You will be able to find an ideal school after checking the school’s information.
    image
    Articles
    Please check the articles written by the editors or other students to the tips of Philippines study. There are many articles about what have they done before and after studying, as well as their advises.
    image
  • Step2

    Ask for quotations and brochures

    image

    After you have identified your favourite school, you can ask for quotation of school fees and brochures.
    You can download the PDF file of brochures here. You can ask for the fees based on when do you plan to study, the duration, the course and room types. You can also check for vacancies and pre-apply based on your schedule.

  • Step3

    Application

    You can apply from the application button. After completing all information and clicking on the “submit” button, your application is completed. After we get your application, we will send a confirmation email to you. ※We will reply you as soon as possible when there is no vacancies.

  • Step4

    Depart to the Philippines

    We will help you to prepare for the Philippines study with various information. After that, enjoy yourself in the Philippines!

FAQ

  • QDo Filipinos have any accent when they speak English?
    AYes most of them do. Just like American accent, British accent, Australian accent, the accent is part and parcel of English speaking. However, most of the teachers selected to teach in the school have gone through proper English teaching training over an extended period, hence they are mostly able to speak English clearly without “Filipino accent”. Due to the heavy influence of America in the colonial and post-colonial period, most of the filipinos are exposed to American culture since young. They listen American music, watching American dramas and movies without subtitles, reading English books as early as when they were children. English is second language for most Filipinos, and the common language of communication between different provinces within the country.
  • QWhat is English only policy (EOP)?
    AA It is a rule that restrict students to speak only English within the school compound, or in other words, students are forbidden to speak their mother tongue. Some schools enforce EOP only in their classrooms and while some SPARTA schools enforce EOP within the whole school compound. Students should decide their preference of EOP before choosing the suitable schools.
  • QIs it safe to study in the Philippines?
    AIt depends on the places. Generally, it is as safe as any other countries. Yet as a foreign students you are always advised to be extra cautious when you are overseas.

    Generally, big cities such as Manila and Cebu are known to be more chaotic and dangerous. Small and quiet cities such as Baguio and Davao are known to be safe for foreigners. However, most of the accidents happened only when no precaution was followed. For example, when you ride on the public transports such as jeepney you are always advised to keep your bag in close watch to avoid pick pocketing. When you go shopping, you should avoid going alone and you should not leave your valuables and belongings unattended at anytime. Be alert when strangers approach you as well. All these advices are applicable to wherever you go.
  • QWhat is the cost of living in the Philippines?
    AIt depends on your lifestyle.

    Generally Philippines is known as a cheap and developing country where the local goods are 1/2 to 1/5 of the normal living cost in a developed country. However, the imported goods would be more expensive in Manila and Cebu. For example, a taxi ride starts from around 40 pesos (USD 0.90), a movie ticket would cost around 90 pesos (USD 2.00) and a bottle of beer would cost around 50 pesos (USD 1.10).
  • QAre there classes throughout the year?
    AYes. Most schools start their intake on every Monday. Holidays are based on the national holidays in the Philippines. Hence, if you are only going for a short duration, you should be more alert on the holidays in Philippines to maximize your class hours. However, sometimes holidays are unpredictable in the Philippines as it is easily affected by the natural disasters or civilization movement such as Typhoon, flood, and local mob. Yet most schools will also try to compensate for any studying hour lost as much as they could.
  • QHow many lessons do we need to have every day?
    AFor the beginners, you are advised to start from taking 4-6 hours every day for a start if you are able to stay for an extended period. However, if you only have a short time span of stay, you are advised to take more than 8 hours of lessons per day.

    One important part is the self-study and class preparation before and after lessons every day. You should allow yourself some time every day for self-study. Normally you can add more lessons after arriving at school. Therefore, after knowing your personal studying style and if you want to study more hours, you can always request for more lessons by paying a bit extra. On the other hand, working adults who can only stay for 1 to 2 weeks are advised to sign up for more than 8 hours lessons at the beginning. In this case, you are advised to study basic grammar on your own before departure and then focus on English speaking training when you are there. Some schools provide maximum 12 hours of lessons per day.
  • QAre the schools strict?
    AThat depends on the school. You can choose the school based on your preference.

    most of the schools over there have certain set of rules such as curfew and monthly exams. Students should abide by those rules. However, some schools do not have such strict rules. Hence they do not have curfew or exams. Yet this environment may be suitable to only adults with high self-discipline. If you believe that you have high self discipline, you can study at such schools.
  • QDo we have access to the Internet?
    AYes. Most schools provide free WIFI.

    However, be warned that the Internet speed in the Philippines is one of the slowest in the world generally. Most schools provides wifi at certain area but speed would be not be enough for you to download large files and watch video streaming online without any interruption. However, there are also some schools which provides good wifi. Therefore, you had to choose schools carefully if you need high speed internet for business or other reasons
  • QAre there any staff who can help me if I can’t speak English well?
    AThat depends on the schools. Most of the schools in the Philippines are run by Korean and Japanese. Most of them have Japanese, Korean, and Chinese speaking staff. You should always check with the school before enrolling. However, this should not be too much of the concern because most schools are experienced in dealing with English speaking beginners and they know how to handle students from different countries.
More FAQ is here. Click on the button below
FAQ for the Philippines study

關於菲律賓遊學

關於菲律賓遊學?

關於菲律賓

菲律賓是一個由7000多座太平洋島嶼組成的共和國,位於東南亞。馬尼拉是菲律賓的首都,也是菲律賓最大的城市。宿霧是菲律賓第二大城市,也是一個有名的度假聖地。您可以在宿霧享受各種水上運動,同時陶醉在當地深厚的文化底蘊和現代化城市裡。除了馬尼拉和宿務,菲律賓還有許多被白沙灘環繞的美麗城市,讓您有許多獨特有趣的體驗和文化衝擊。

菲律賓是亞洲唯一的天主教國家,飲食文化信仰等深受西方美國文化影響。菲律賓在南中國海上,與中國,馬來西亞和越南為鄰。從這裡到其他亞洲國家一般都使用飛行,十分快捷便利,例如從台北到馬尼拉只需2小時,從日本東京到馬尼拉只需4小時。菲律賓當地人民更是以友善熱情為名。

Philippines

國家名稱 菲律賓共和國
面積 300000平方公里
人口 100,627,630
首都 馬尼拉
種族 菲律賓籍
宗教 天主教(83%),基督教(10%),伊斯蘭教(5%)
語言 他加祿語和英語

菲律賓和英語

「為什麼要去菲律賓學英語?」很多人當第一次聽到有朋友去菲律賓學英語時心中都會有這樣的疑問。然而,根據全球英語指標進行的最新研究,菲律賓被公認為擁有全世界最好的國家總體商業英語技能。很多人選擇到菲律賓學英語是因為它價格低廉。但是,更重要的是,菲律賓英語教學的質量也很高。由於這裡的普遍英語水平很高,很多國際大企業都把他們的的國際呼叫中心設立在菲律賓,而隨著全球化的發展,這項行業目前也在快速增長。從所有跡象顯示,菲律賓有望成為國際英語教育的樞紐。

※菲律賓被選為由商務英語指數第一名。

菲律賓遊學的好處

  • 1對1課程

    One-to-one lesson image

    菲律賓大多學校都提供每天多達4-10堂一對一英語課。相比其他英語系國家如美國,英國,加拿大,澳大利亞和紐西蘭,這是菲律賓遊學最大的好處。一般歐美國祇提供每週10至20堂英語課。在普通的大團體課上,學生不會有超過5分鐘的說話練習時間。 1對1課可以顯著地快速提升學生的英語​​技能和自信。由於1對1在其他國家的費用高昂,因此想要長時間有1對1英語的課程,菲律賓就是您的唯一選擇。一般上,學生在菲律賓開始上課後的一個星期內,就會毫不猶豫地說英語了。

  • 價格低廉

    Cost advantage image

    菲律賓的遊學費用一般是其他國家,如美國,英國,加拿大和澳大利亞留學的1/3或½。平均每月全部的費用介於1500-2000美元之間,這些費用已經包括了學費,住宿,膳食和洗衣。有些人可能會說,在自己國家學習跟便宜,然而自己國家很難營造講英語的環境,英語進步很難顯著。

  • 度假村式的生活

    Resort lifestyle image

    菲律賓是一個熱帶國家,常年溫暖的氣候,美麗的白沙灘和友好的人民是這裡的特點。大多數城市都臨海而建,從城市到海灘只需1小時車程。當地嗨擁有世界一流的海灘如長灘島和巴拉望島。除了潛水,浮潛,日光浴,沙灘和各種海上活動,學生也可以體驗許多在菲律賓的文化遺產,如水稻梯田,美軍基地,充滿活力的街頭市場,熱帶水果和果汁,以及用低廉的價格品嚐當地美食。想要一邊學英語一邊度假?菲律賓就是您最正確的選擇!

學習流程

  • 步驟1

    學前資料蒐集和規劃

    查看點評
    請查看有關學校和菲律賓的資料。在芒果遊學網上,有超過100條各式各樣的評論。您能夠通過學生第一手的學校信息,找到您最理想的學校。
    image
    參考文章
    芒果遊學網上有很多學生和編輯寫的文章供您參考。您可以在行前瀏覽他們在學校的生活和遊記,從中吸取經驗。
    image
  • 步驟2

    索取學校宣傳冊與報價單

    image

    當您確定了自己心目中的學校後,您可以向我們索取學校的宣傳冊和報價。 ?您可以在這裡下載學校宣傳冊的PDF文檔。您可以根據學習開課日和結束日,課程和房型要求索取學費。在提交申請前,您也可以向我們確保學校的空缺。

  • 步驟3

    提交申請

    當完成填表資料後,您可以點擊“提交”按鈕提交申請。當我們收到您的學校申請提交,我們會發送確認電子郵件給您。 ※在學校沒有空位的情況下,我們會盡快回复您。

  • 步驟4

    出發去菲律賓

    我們會盡量幫您為菲律賓遊學提供各種信息和準備。在此之後,盡情享受自己的菲律賓之旅吧!

常見問題

  • Q菲律賓人有口音嗎?
    A 有的。所有人說話都有當地人說話的口音,如美國人有美國腔,英國人有英國腔,澳洲人有澳洲腔等。然而,大多數在菲律賓留校任教的教師都通過長時間的正統英語教學培訓,因此他們不僅沒有“菲傭口音”,更說得一口流利的美式或英式英語。由於菲律賓當地人深受美國在殖民和後殖民時期的影響,大部分菲律賓人從小就接觸美國文化。他們聽美國音樂,無需字幕就可以看美國的電視劇和電影,早在孩童時期就開始閱讀英文書籍。英語是當地人的第二語言,更是當地和不同省份之間交流溝通的共通語言。
  • Q什麼是只使用英語政策(EOP)?
    A EOP是限制學生在校園內只能使用英語的規則,換句話說,學生之間禁止使用母語交流。有些學校的EOP只限制在課堂範圍,也有一些斯巴達學校在整個學校院​​內實施EOP,包括教室與宿舍。因此學生必鬚根據自己所能接受的EOP程度慎選合適的學校。
  • Q菲律賓安全嗎?
    A 看地區。一般來說,菲律賓是安全的國家。然而,身為外國學生,您必須格外謹慎。一般來說,大城市,如馬尼拉和宿務被認為是比較混亂和危險的地方。小而安靜的城市,如碧瑤和達沃等被認為是比較安全的。但是,根據我們的經驗,大多數的意外發生在學生不注意的時候。例如,當您乘坐公共交通工具,如吉普尼時,您必須留意包包,把它放在身前,注意扒手。當您去購物時,應該避免單獨出鬥,也不應該隨處放置您的貴重物品和財物。當有陌生人您時,要多加留意和謹慎。
  • Q菲律賓平常生活開銷高嗎?
    A 根據您的個人生活方式。 菲律賓屬於發展中國家,生活水平不高,一般是台灣普通生活水平的½到80%的生活成本。然而,進口貨物在馬尼拉和宿務有些會比台灣來得貴。大致上來說這裡的價格還是很親民的,如乘坐德士從開始跑表只需40披索(28台幣),一張電影票大概是90披索(63台幣),一瓶啤酒大約50披索(35台幣)。
  • Q全年任何時候都能來上課嗎?
    A 是的。這里大部分學校都是每週開課。但是一般學校都會根據菲律賓國家法定節假日休假。因此,如果您只能在菲律賓逗留較短時間,建議您最好事先查詢菲律賓節假日以避免失去寶貴的上課時間。但是,需要提醒您的是在菲律賓有些假日是不可預測的。因為常有一些自然災害如颱風,水災,和罷工等運動。然而,有些學校也會盡量在發生這些無預警的假日後補課。
  • Q一天必須上幾堂課?
    A 對於初學者來說,我們一般建議您每天上課至少4-6小時,並在菲律賓呆上3個月左右。但是,如果你只能逗留很短的時間,建議您每天上8小時以上的課以補充時間上的不足。 學生必須自律在課堂前備課,在課堂後自習。通常情況下,您可以到達學校後要求加課(一般需要多付費)。因此,建議學生從普通ESL開始上課,然後了解個人風格學習後再視情況加課。但是對於一些只能逗留短時間1〜2週的學生,建議每天上超過8小時的課。在這種情況下,建議您在出發前自習基本語法,然後到達學校後專注於英語口語訓練,那麼學習效果就會非常顯著。有些學校提供最多每天12個小時的課。
  • Q那邊學校的校規都很嚴嗎?
    A 這取決於學校。請根據您喜好選擇。宿霧的學校一般都有校規,如門禁時間是晚上10-11點,每月考試等。然而,學校校規嚴不嚴格完全取決於學校。有些學校甚至沒門禁沒有考試。然而,許多學生不太喜歡在這樣的環境學校。但是如果您有很高的自律能力,這種學校反而可能適合您。一句話,請根據自己的喜好慎選學校。
  • Q學校能夠上網嗎?
    A 大部分學校都有提供免費WIFI。然而,菲律賓的普通互聯網速度在亞洲來說是最慢的國家之一。大多數學校在一定區域內提供wifi,但大多網速不足以供您下載較大文檔和觀看在線視頻。不過,也有一些學校提供良好的無線網絡。因此,如果您需要高速互聯,請慎選學校。
  • Q當地學校有中文工作人員嗎?
    A 這取決於學校。菲律賓大部分學校是由韓國人和日本人開的。學校職員裡有日本和韓國人,但是越來越多學校有中文工作人員了。您可以從這裡了解學校是否有中文工作人員。
點擊以下查看更多的常見問題
菲律賓遊學的常見問題
芒果遊學顧問聯繫方式

諮詢專線:0987-133-556  /  LINE:march180715  /  Skype:mango.study(24小時開放留言諮詢)
MAIL:eason@mangostudy.tw  /  諮詢預約時間:10:00~22:00(週一~週日)